How to Factory Reset Your Samsung Tablet

WhatsApp
Telegram
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest
Reddit



Samsung has a line-up of some of the most popular devices and for good reason. However, you might come across a problem with your Samsung tablet where simply restarting it doesn’t help.

Your device might be at risk of viruses, errors, or other issues. The process of resetting your device is fairly easy and takes just a few minutes. Here, we’ll take a look at how to factory reset your Samsung tablet.


Why Should You Reset Your Device?

If your Samsung tablet is having issues, there are a few different things you can try. You could reboot the device or perform a complete factory reset. A factory reset will erase all of your data from your device and replace it with default or original settings. Keep in mind that you should do this only after you’ve tried all other methods to restart your device.

You might want to reset the tablet in the following circumstances:

  • Your device isn’t working properly: If your device is running slow or the screen seems to be frozen, you could try resetting it. Additionally, this might help fix issues such as slow performance, bugs and, errors, power issues (battery draining too fast), or software updates that didn’t work as expected.
  • You wish to sell your device: You’d want to erase all personal data stored on your device especially when you’re looking to sell or give away your device, thus making it much harder for anyone else to access your information.
  • You’ve forgotten your password: You might also want to reset your Samsung tablet if you’ve forgotten your password or the device lock/pattern on your device.


The Google Factory Reset Protection (FRP) feature is an added security measure on devices with Android v5.1 or higher. It is automatically enabled when you add a Google account to your device. This ensures that your data cannot be accessed if someone attempts an unauthorized reset on your phone or tablet. You’ll need your Google password to log in after a reset. If planning to sell your tablet, you should remove your Google account details first.

How to Factory Reset a Samsung Tablet

Before you attempt a reset on your Samsung phone or tablet, however, you’ll need to transfer or back up all the data on your device—images, files, videos, or apps. You can back up your device using the Samsung Smart Switch app, a cloud storage service such as Google Drive, or take advantage of other backup solutions.

If you’re having trouble with your Samsung tablet, resetting it may help. We’ve used a Galaxy Tab A for all sections of this guide. You can reset your tablet using multiple methods listed below.

Factory Reset Your Samsung Tablet Using the Reset Settings

You can use your tablet’s settings to perform a factory reset. Here’s how to do this:

  1. On your Samsung tablet, go to Settings > General Management > Reset.
  2. Tap Factory data reset. You’ll see a list of apps and accounts installed on your device that would be deleted during the reset process.
  3. Scroll down and tap Reset. If prompted, enter your lock screen pattern or code.
  4. Tap Delete all.
  5. Your device will shut down. The reset procedure will take a few minutes, after which your device will reboot automatically.
  6. Once done, you can set up your tablet from scratch once again.


Factory Reset Your Samsung Tablet Using Recovery Mode

The “recovery mode” is an essential tool that can help you fix issues on your smartphone or tablet. You access it without needing to boot into Android, and it offers shortcuts for different operations that you can access using a set combination of keys (Power, Home, and Volume). Depending on your device model, you’ll need to use the correct combination of keys or buttons when performing a factory reset.

To use this method, follow the steps listed below:

  1. Switch off your device using the Power button.
  2. Once it has shut down, press and hold the Volume Up button and the Power button for a few seconds. The Samsung logo screen will come up, and your device will enter into recovery mode.
  3. You can now view a list of shortcuts in recovery mode. Press the Volume down button to highlight the option Wipe data/factory reset.
  4. You’ll also see a warning prompt to save your Google account credentials before attempting a hard reset. Make sure you have saved your Google account details, and then press the Power key to select the highlighted option.
  5. On the confirmation screen, tap Yes to wipe all user data.
  6. Wait a few seconds for the reset process to complete. On the recovery page, tap Reboot system now.
  7. Once the process is completed, press the Power key to reboot it.
  8. After the reset, you might need to provide your Google account credentials to set it up again. If you’ve forgotten your password, visit the Google account recovery website to reset it.

Reset Your Samsung Tablet Using Find My Mobile

If your tablet is lost or stolen, you can use the Find My Mobile feature to locate it. If you wish to remotely lock or erase your device, you’ll need your Samsung account credentials as well as an active internet connection (in most cases) to access your device’s location. To reset your tablet using this method, follow the steps below:

  1. Go to the Find My Mobile website and select Erase data from the menu.
  2. You’ll be prompted to enter a security code. Once done, tap Verify to continue.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the confirmation page and tap Erase to delete all the data on your Samsung tablet.

Back Up Your Data Before Resetting Your Device

It’s up to you to decide if performing a factory reset on your tablet is the right move. However, if you do go ahead and reset your device, make sure you back up as much data as possible before doing so. You never know what information you might lose during the reset process. While it may seem like a daunting task, backing up your tablet device is fairly easy.



Source link

Share it with your friends

WhatsApp
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest
Reddit
Crowded Hell

Crowded Hell

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.